Niki Ren

a walk on the sunny side of the street…

I become a paddling fish… July 20, 2008

Filed under: adventure,Bali,sports,travel — niki @ 9:37 pm
Tags:

Nusa Dua Beach, where I attempted surfing and kayak surfed ;)

Nusa Dua Beach, where I attempted surfing and kayak surfed 😉


The last day and a half in Bali was wonderful!  I finally got that long desired surf lesson and actually caught a few waves, laying down on my long board of courseIt was soooooooooo much fun!  I paddled, paddled, and paddled, with my back arched and everything.  Although it was a very short lesson, but I feel so much more confident about being able to actually surf one day.  I really do love the ocean despite my lame swimming abilities.

The morning of our flight to Singapore, Alex and I ocean kayaked; it wasn’t a surfable condition :(….   Kayaking turned out to be an awesome decision.  Being the surfing addict that I am now, the entire time, we were kayaking toward a wave or trying to catch one.  By the end the ride, we caught 2 waves on our kayak! 🙂  The feeling you feel when riding on a wave is incredible, like flying on water!  I think I’m in love again and wish I was a dolphin!!!!

 

Leave a comment