Niki Ren

a walk on the sunny side of the street…

The joy of falling in water and the magic of a wet suit! September 12, 2007

Filed under: adventure,Berkeley,sports — niki @ 1:45 am



I had an action packed weekend!

Inspired by my walk in the Berkeley Marina and the previously discovered lust for the ocean, I took a sea kayaking class with Alex this past Saturday. For those of you that know me well, don’t be shocked. I know I have always been a scaredy cat when it comes to being in water, especially very cold ocean water. I am proud to say that with the discovery of the wonderful and powerful wet suit, I am no longer afraid of falling into cold water 🙂 In fact, during the 8-hour sea kayaking class, I fell into the ocean 3 times, 2 of which were for practice. Surprisingly, the 3rd time was when I had the most fun. The fall was completely unexpected and in turbulent waves, but since I was already previously trained on what to do should such a fall occurs, I did not panic at all. I actually loved it. Alex even performed a rescue on me. It was awesome!

In case you were wondering what is there to learn about sea kayaking in 8 hours, like I did going into it, there are actually a lot. In fact, the 8-hour course that Cal Adventures offer was a crash course for sea kayaking. The normal course is a 12 hour training over 3 days. Like many things in life, the finer details are what tend to make the difference between someone who think they know what they are doing and someone who does know what they are doing. And kayaking is not an exception.



 

Leave a comment